The Midnight Court

Sweeney, W. , O'Connor, F. and Merriman, B. (2012) The Midnight Court. [Compositions]

Full text not currently available from Enlighten.


A work in nine movements for eight singers, two cornetti, three sackbuts, two violins, cello, violone, theorbo and chamber organ. It is a setting of Brian Merriman's 18th century poem, originally in Irish gaelic, in a version prepared by the composer from the English translation by Frank O'Connor.

Item Type:Compositions
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Sweeney, Professor William
Authors: Sweeney, W., O'Connor, F., and Merriman, B.
Subjects:M Music and Books on Music > M Music
P Language and Literature > PB Modern European Languages > PB1501 Scottish Gaelic Language
P Language and Literature > PE English
College/School:College of Arts > School of Culture and Creative Arts > Music

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record