The Archaic: the Past in the Present

Bishop, P. (Ed.) (2012) The Archaic: the Past in the Present. Routledge: London. ISBN 9780415547550

Full text not currently available from Enlighten.

Publisher's URL: http://www.routledge.com/books/details/9780415547567/

Abstract


'Old-fashioned', 'primitive', 'antiquated', these are all definitons of the archaic. Yet the archaic is, in fact, much more than something very, very old: it is timeless, inasmuch as it is before time itself. Archē, Urgrund, Ungrund, 'primordial darkness', 'eternal nothing' are names for something essentially nameless, yet whose presence we nevertheless intuit.

The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.G. Jung's classic essay, 'Archaic Man' (1930), and Ernesto Grassi's paper on 'Archaic Theories of History' (1990). Moving beyond the confines of a Jungian framework to include other methodological approaches, this book explores the concept of the archaic.

This book focuses on the reception of myth in the tradition of German Idealism or Romanticism (Creuzer, Schelling, Nietzsche), which not only looked back to earlier thinkers (such as Jacob Boehme) but also laid down roots for developments in twentieth-century thought (Ludwig Klages, Martin Heidegger). The Archaic also includes:

  • studies of the Germanic dimension of the archaic (Charles Bambach, Alan Cardew)
  • a discussion of the mytho-phenomenological approach to the archaic (Robert Josef Kozljanič)
  • a series of articles on Jung's understanding of the archaic (Paul Bishop, Susan Rowland, Robert Segal).



This book will be of interest to psychoanalysts, anthropologists and phenomenologists, as well as students of psychology, cultural studies, religious studies, and philosophy, as it seeks to rehabilitate a concept of demonstrable and urgent relevance for our time.

Item Type:Edited Books
Status:Published
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Bishop, Professor Paul
Authors:
College/School:College of Arts > School of Modern Languages and Cultures > German
Publisher:Routledge
ISBN:9780415547550
Related URLs:

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record