Three words from the sacred harp

Hammond, D. (2011) Three words from the sacred harp. [Compositions]

Available under License Creative Commons Attribution No Derivatives.



This three-movement choral piece was written for the University of Glasgow Madrigirls, which is an all female choir under the direction of Katy Cooper and Catriona Hutchinson. The first movement is for two mezzo soprano soloists, the second movement is for quintet, and the third movement is for the full SSAA choir. The piece takes selections of texts from the Sacred Harp Hymnal which are unified according to three movements by the following three words: 1) "I", 2) "will" and 3) "sing". The following is a program note from the first performance on June 17, 2011. <br></br><br></br> Three Words from the Sacred Harp is constructed around the words “I”, “Will” and “Sing”, which were taken from the Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. <br></br><br></br> In the first movement, a duet on I, the extracts dwell on ideas of journeying home. <br></br><br></br> Journey Home 111<br></br><br></br> I'm on my journey home<br></br><br></br> Parting Friends 267<br></br><br></br> I'm trav'ling through the wilderness<br></br><br></br> Journey Home 111<br></br><br></br> I'm bound fair Canaan's land to see<br></br><br></br> 80 Service to the Lord<br></br><br></br> Farewell, vain world I'm going home<br></br><br></br> <br></br><br></br> My Savior smiles and bids me come Devotion 48<br></br><br></br> Then shall I see, and hear, and know<br></br><br></br> Journey Home 111<br></br><br></br> Oh, who will come and go with me?<br></br><br></br> I'm Going Home 282 <br></br><br></br> And I don't care to stay here long!<br></br><br></br> Eternal Day 383<br></br><br></br> Rivers of life divine I see. <br></br><br></br> In the second movement, on Will, the words deal with inviting God into the home. <br></br><br></br> 335 Return again<br></br><br></br> All will come to desolation, unless Thou return again.<br></br><br></br> 161 Sweet Home<br></br><br></br> All will be peace when I’m with Thee at home. <br></br><br></br> The third movement, Sing, deals with death and eternity. <br></br><br></br> Infinite delight 562<br></br><br></br> And thus I begin to sing<br></br><br></br> Oh grave, where is thy triumph now?<br></br><br></br> Oh death, where is thy sting?<br></br><br></br> Wooten 548<br></br><br></br> And I soon shall sing in eternity<br></br><br></br> Fillmore 434<br></br><br></br> Thus I will sing, till sense and language are no more<br></br><br></br> <br></br><br></br> Many thanks to the Madrigirls for their wonderful singing, to Creative Scotland for making this project possible, and to for providing such a unique way of examining the Sacred Harp.

Item Type:Compositions
Keywords:new music, composition, female, choir
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Hammond, Drew
Authors: Hammond, D.
Subjects:M Music and Books on Music > M Music
College/School:College of Arts > School of Culture and Creative Arts > Music
Publisher Policy:Reproduced with permission of the author

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record