A Polyphonic Essay on Eros

Ross, A. C.M. and Meikle, G. (2019) A Polyphonic Essay on Eros. [Exhibitions]

Full text not currently available from Enlighten.


A Polyphonic Essay on ... is a performance, presentation and discussion that explores the forms through which we access, discuss and learn from time-based artworks. The first iteration was commissioned by Transart and presented at the Transart Triennale in Berlin 2016, then for NEoN Digital Arts Festival 2017 in association with the REWIND Artists Video Archive and the AHRC funded research project EWVA (European Women's Video Art in the 70s and 8os). This edition explores the concept of Eros, drawing from the Cinenova collection. Each curator will unveil their selected artworks to one another and the audience simultaneously. This format agitates expected conventions and the mediated response of presenting artworks to an audience. Introducing a live, spontaneous element of performance in which the curators will respond in the moment. Live essaying will draw from individually gathered archives of material and will unfold, surround and contextualise the presented video artworks. The resulting conversation, built from a highly researched, but unrehearsed form of delivery, will draw from a prepared bank of audio excerpts, quotes, and other materials. This conversation will weave around the artworks and artistic practices to pull the critique of both audience and curators close to the screened artworks. Through this shared process and integral liveness, it is anticipated we will arrive at an alternative reading of the artworks drawn through our shared knowledges. As such, this event proffers an alternative entry to reading artworks and is recommended to those interested in the expanded field of the curatorial.

Item Type:Exhibitions
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Ross, Dr Alexandra
Authors: Ross, A. C.M., and Meikle, G.
College/School:College of Arts > School of Culture and Creative Arts > History of Art
Related URLs:

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record