Molecular mechanisms of cell death: recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee on Cell Death 2018

Galluzzi, L. et al. (2018) Molecular mechanisms of cell death: recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee on Cell Death 2018. Cell Death and Differentiation, 25(3), pp. 486-541. (doi: 10.1038/s41418-017-0012-4) (PMID:29362479) (PMCID:PMC5864239)

205111.pdf - Published Version
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial Share Alike.



Over the past decade, the Nomenclature Committee on Cell Death (NCCD) has formulated guidelines for the definition and interpretation of cell death from morphological, biochemical, and functional perspectives. Since the field continues to expand and novel mechanisms that orchestrate multiple cell death pathways are unveiled, we propose an updated classification of cell death subroutines focusing on mechanistic and essential (as opposed to correlative and dispensable) aspects of the process. As we provide molecularly oriented definitions of terms including intrinsic apoptosis, extrinsic apoptosis, mitochondrial permeability transition (MPT)-driven necrosis, necroptosis, ferroptosis, pyroptosis, parthanatos, entotic cell death, NETotic cell death, lysosome-dependent cell death, autophagy-dependent cell death, immunogenic cell death, cellular senescence, and mitotic catastrophe, we discuss the utility of neologisms that refer to highly specialized instances of these processes. The mission of the NCCD is to provide a widely accepted nomenclature on cell death in support of the continued development of the field.

Item Type:Articles
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Gottlieb, Professor Eyal and Ryan, Professor Kevin and Tait, Professor Stephen
Authors: Galluzzi, L., Vitale, I., Aaronson, S. A., Abrams, J. M., Adam, D., Agostinis, P., Alnemri, E. S., Altucci, L., Amelio, I., Andrews, D. W., Annicchiarico-Petruzzelli, M., Antonov, A. V., Arama, E., Baehrecke, E. H., Barlev, N. A., Bazan, N. G., Bernassola, F., Bertrand, M. J. M., Bianchi, K., Blagosklonny, M. V., Blomgren, K., Borner, C., Boya, P., Brenner, C., Campanella, M., Candi, E., Carmona-Gutierrez, D., Cecconi, F., Chan, F. K.-M., Chandel, N. S., Cheng, E. H., Chipuk, J. E., Cidlowski, J. A., Ciechanover, A., Cohen, G. M., Conrad, M., Cubillos-Ruiz, J. R., Czabotar, P. E., D’Angiolella, V., Dawson, T. M., Dawson, V. L., De Laurenzi, V., De Maria, R., Debatin, K.-M., DeBerardinis, R. J., Deshmukh, M., Di Daniele, N., Di Virgilio, F., Dixit, V. M., Dixon, S. J., Duckett, C. S., Dynlacht, B. D., El-Deiry, W. S., Elrod, J. W., Fimia, G. M., Fulda, S., García-Sáez, A. J., Garg, A. D., Garrido, C., Gavathiotis, E., Golstein, P., Gottlieb, E., Green, D. R., Greene, L. A., Gronemeyer, H., Gross, A., Hajnoczky, G., Hardwick, J. M., Harris, I. S., Hengartner, M. O., Hetz, C., Ichijo, H., Jäättelä, M., Joseph, B., Jost, P. J., Juin, P. P., Kaiser, W. J., Karin, M., Kaufmann, T., Kepp, O., Kimchi, A., Kitsis, R. N., Klionsky, D. J., Knight, R. A., Kumar, S., Lee, S. W., Lemasters, J. J., Levine, B., Linkermann, A., Lipton, S. A., Lockshin, R. A., López-Otín, C., Lowe, S. W., Luedde, T., Lugli, E., MacFarlane, M., Madeo, F., Malewicz, M., Malorni, W., Manic, G., Marine, J.-C., Martin, S. J., Martinou, J.-C., Medema, J. P., Mehlen, P., Meier, P., Melino, S., Miao, E. A., Molkentin, J. D., Moll, U. M., Muñoz-Pinedo, C., Nagata, S., Nuñez, G., Oberst, A., Oren, M., Overholtzer, M., Pagano, M., Panaretakis, T., Pasparakis, M., Penninger, J. M., Pereira, D. M., Pervaiz, S., Peter, M. E., Piacentini, M., Pinton, P., Prehn, J. H.M., Puthalakath, H., Rabinovich, G. A., Rehm, M., Rizzuto, R., Rodrigues, C. M.P., Rubinsztein, D. C., Rudel, T., Ryan, K. M., Sayan, E., Scorrano, L., Shao, F., Shi, Y., Silke, J., Simon, H.-U., Sistigu, A., Stockwell, B. R., Strasser, A., Szabadkai, G., Tait, S. W.G., Tang, D., Tavernarakis, N., Thorburn, A., Tsujimoto, Y., Turk, B., Vanden Berghe, T., Vandenabeele, P., Vander Heiden, M. G., Villunger, A., Virgin, H. W., Vousden, K. H., Vucic, D., Wagner, E. F., Walczak, H., Wallach, D., Wang, Y., Wells, J. A., Wood, W., Yuan, J., Zakeri, Z., Zhivotovsky, B., Zitvogel, L., Melino, G., and Kroemer, G.
College/School:College of Medical Veterinary and Life Sciences > School of Cancer Sciences
Journal Name:Cell Death and Differentiation
Publisher:Nature Publishing Group
ISSN (Online):1476-5403
Published Online:23 January 2018
Copyright Holders:Copyright © 2018 The Authors
First Published:First published in Cell Death and Differentiation 25(3):486-541
Publisher Policy:Reproduced under a Creative Commons License

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record