Kendhang, Or and Vug: three works for performer and live computer system

Fells, N. (1999) Kendhang, Or and Vug: three works for performer and live computer system. Organised Sound, 4(2), pp. 79-85.

Full text not currently available from Enlighten.

Publisher's URL:


This paper outlines some of the technical and aesthetic issues arising from my works which involve computer technology directly in live performance. A process of experimentation in algorithmic composition is described, particularly in relation to aspects of form and ways of automating musical processes at various structural levels. Three works are then described: Kendhang is a work in which a dancer influences the output of a simple algorithmic music system based on interpolation; Or is an instrumental trio which uses realtime sound granulation; and Vug extends this realtime granulation and applies it to a solo clarinet line. An exploration of both the distinctions and similarities between these works is used to develop a general approach to the integration of computer-based algorithmic systems with live performance. This approach emphasises the need for efficient use of technological resources in order to convey expressive content accurately.

Item Type:Articles (Other)
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Fells, Professor Nick
Authors: Fells, N.
Subjects:M Music and Books on Music > ML Literature of music
College/School:College of Arts & Humanities > School of Culture and Creative Arts > Music
Journal Name:Organised Sound
Publisher:Cambridge University Press
Copyright Holders:Cambridge University Press

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record