Allocation Dynamics

Fells, N. (2005) Allocation Dynamics. [Compositions]

Text (Allocation Dynamics Score)
115180.pdf - Other
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial No Derivatives.

[img] Archive (MAX patches) - Other
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial No Derivatives.


Publisher's URL:


Allocation dynamics is a work for 4 instruments or voices with live computer-generated animation. The animation is projected onto a screen on-stage behind the performers. The sounds of the instruments themselves are represented on-screen as 'embedding plots' in a virtual 3d space - this means that 'pure' sounds give rise to smooth, circular-type shapes, but richer timbres give rise to more chaotic motions that are harder to predict. Essentially the performers themselves directly shape the animation, forming a kind of 'score' for the piece. This makes a feedback loop, where the sound of the instrument makes motion on-screen, and the movement of those shapes influences the way the performer plays. Each player has their own graphic 'figure', fed from the sound of their instrument, that they attempt to watch and 'stabilise' throughout the performance (this is difficult, since sometimes figures become obscured by others). The graphics make looping shapes made up from spheres (at some points becoming squares) that constantly move in in relation to the timbre of the sound played. The animated score flows between relative stasis and noisy dynamism. The choice of ensemble is quite free, comprising four sustaining instruments or voices with a comfortable overlap of pitch range, chosen to give a well-balanced dynamic and a range of timbres capable of homogenous fusion. Allocation Dynamics was first performed at Glasgow's Centre for Contemporary Arts in June 2005, and at the Gasteig centre in Munich in July 2005.

Item Type:Compositions
Glasgow Author(s) Enlighten ID:Fells, Professor Nick
Authors: Fells, N.
Subjects:M Music and Books on Music > M Music
College/School:College of Arts & Humanities > School of Culture and Creative Arts > Music
Publisher:Centre for Contemporary Arts, Glasgow; Gasteig, Munich
Copyright Holders:Nick Fells
Related URLs:

University Staff: Request a correction | Enlighten Editors: Update this record